

Rural Business Development Advisory Council

PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES

Arizona Commerce Authority 333 North Central Avenue, Suite 1900 Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Approved Minutes

I. Call to Order and Roll Call

Julie Patrick, Chair called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m. Julie Patrick, Chair called Sarah Knaperek to call roll. A quorum was present.

The meeting was noticed and properly posted.

Committee Members Present Julie Pastrick, Chair David Bentler Bill Assenmacher Ben File Angela Harmon Gary Kellogg Kip Kempton Ellen Kretsch Nolan Larson Les Orchekowsky Stephen Rutherford D.L. Wilson Keith Watkins

<u>Committee Members Absent</u> Julie Engel Terri Lynn Grier LeRoy Shingoitewa Matthew Mandel <u>ACA Staff Members</u> Ken Chapa Sarah Knaperek Rich Blau

<u>Guests Present</u>

Dr. Ioanna Morfessis

II. Welcome

Julie Pastrick, Chair welcomed the Committee by stating that the Council is coming together nicely and thanked the members for their willingness to serve and their commitments.

III. Approval of Minutes of May 22, 2013

David Bentler moved to approve the May 22, 2013 minutes, Gary Kellogg seconded the motion. Motion was approved.

IV. Rural Presentation-Dr. Ioanna Morfessis

Dr. Morfessis also went through a thorough presentation on Committee member profiles and mission statement. She concluded her presentation by going through an exchange with each member present as to why they accepted appointment to the RBDAC Committee and how it impacts the Counties they represent.

V. Review of Certified Sites

Keith Watkins, SVP, Economic/Rural Development and Ken Chapa, VP, Economic/Rural Development, gave an overview of RBDAC certified sites criteria for Rural Communities.

VI. Rural Grants Review/Discussion

The Committee discussed the Infrastructure Enhancement and Economic Development Program.

- a. Infrastructure Enhancement
- b. Economic Development Program

VII. Call to Council Members for Future Agenda Items

There were no future items to discuss.

VIII. Call to Public

No Public Comments were made.

IX. Adjournment

Nolan Larson moved to adjourn the meeting, Gary Kellogg seconded. Motion approved.

The Committee adjourned at 1:24p.m.