

RURAL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES

Arizona Commerce Authority Ajo Conference Room 118 N. 7th Avenue, Suite 400 Phoenix, AZ 85007

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 11:30 A.M. – 1:30 P.M.

I. Call to Order and Roll Call

Keith Watkins, Acting Chairman, called the meeting of the Rural Business Development Advisory Council to order at 11:28 A.M. Teri Orman, ACA, noted roll call:

Committee Members Present and In-Person

- Keith Watkins, ACA (Acting Chairman)
- Angie Harmon, Statewide Organization Representative
- Levi Esquerra, Tribal Representative
- Joy Stavely, Coconino County
- David Bentler, Maricopa County
- Tom Murphy, Pima County
- Greg Stanley, Pinal County
- Ron Fain, Yavapai County
- Mayor Doug Nicholls, Yuma County

Committee Members Present Via Teleconference

- Les Orchekowski, Cochise County
- Ron Gould, Mohave County

Committee Members Not Present

- VACANT, Apache County
- Ellen Kretsch, Gila County
- Robert Corbell, Greenlee County
- D.L. Wilson, La Paz County
- Jaime Chamberlin, Santa Cruz County

Other Attendees

- Matthew Contorelli, ACA Government Affairs
- Teri Orman, ACA

A quorum was present. The meeting was noticed and properly posted.



II. Approval of Minutes Dated April 5, 2017.

Levi Esquerra moved to approve the minutes; Les Orchekowski seconded the motion; all in favor; the motion was approved.

III. Presentation from Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management – Director Jeff Whitney

Jeff Whitney gave a presentation on the State Forester's Office and overview of the goals of the Four Forest Restoration Initiative.

IV. Legislative Update – Matt Contorelli, ACA

Matt Contorelli gave an update of approved House and Senate bills that affect the ACA and explained how they may be beneficial to rural economic development.

V. Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) Update

Keith Watkins provided an overview of recent activities and initiatives at the ACA, with special focus on items of interest to the rural areas of the state.

VI. Roundtable Discussion

Each attendee gave an updated regarding their respective community.

VII. Call to Public

No members of the public were in attendance.

VIII. Adjournment

David Bentler moved to adjourn; Tom Murphy seconded the motion; all voted in favor; the meeting adjourned at 1:30 P.M.

